I Got Stitch Fixed

(This is not a sponsored post. Also, sorry for the poor quality photos. I was in a hurry to get stuff packed back up and get to the post office before it snowed again.)

For months I’ve been scrolling past the suggested posts in my Facebook sidebar that insist I need a monthly delivery of stuff. Whether it’s food, cosmetics, or clothes, the Bark Box, or Birch Box, or whatever insists it will be an awesome treat. There’s even one that offers to rent me plus-sized clothes (thanks, internet, I needed one more reminder to diet). None of them seemed all that tempting to me, though. I’m trying to get rid of stuff, not add to the clutter.

Then, one day, when I was particularly bored and shlubby-feeling, I read a blog post by a girl who was trying out Stitch Fix. She didn’t love the experience, but I thought it looked like great fun. Someone will figure out something for me to wear so I don’t have to think about it, and then they will send it to me so I don’t have to go to the store? Sign me up.

Shut-up-and-take-my-moneyI’m not exactly what you might call fashionably inclined. I like to look nice, and I can tell you whether I like a certain outfit or not, but I don’t generally get creative with outfits. And I’m terrible at picking things out at the store. Somehow, I just can’t ever picture what the shirt on the hanger will look like on me, and I don’t pick the right things on the rack. I’m much happier when someone else (generally my mom) suggests something for me, and I’m all like, okay, I’ll wear that.

Ribbed Sweater Jacket - Preppy navyMy most recent mom-suggestion is possibly my favorite piece of clothing right now. It’s like a blankie that I can wear in public. And it’s cute. (This isn’t an accurate picture because I couldn’t find a decent one online and I’m too lazy to go upstairs and take a pic. In any case, it’s like this and from Banana Republic, but it’s black and white, and it has a big wide collar, and it’s knitted and cozy).

So when I found out about this service that would do this for me, I really wanted to try it out. Here’s how it works.

When you create an account with Stitch Fix, you fill out a fashion profile thingy that lets them know what style you’re looking for, how you want the clothes to fit, and what price range to work with. I don’t work in an office or go out to anything fancy, so I requested comfy casual clothes in a moderate price range (something like Gap or Loft).

So here’s what I got in my first shipment.

Stitch Fix 1Love this. It fits loosely and actually covers my butt (I have a long torso and almost nothing is long enough). I never would have picked this up on my own and the idea of a dolman sleeve was not something I thought I’d like, but the dolman sleeve is really subtle. This is comfy and definitely cute enough to wear at whatever social functions I find myself at (however rarely). It’s a touch more expensive than I would usually go for in the store, but it’s totally worth it for having someone else pick it out and send it to my house. Keeper.

Stitch Fix 2Ditto on most of the comments about the last piece. Except that this one fits snugly over the hips. I wasn’t crazy about that aspect when I first tried it on, because the snug fit accentuates any lumps where the waistband of your pants hits, but it works fine with yoga pants and leggings. And I’ll probably wear it with jeans regardless. I need tops like this. Keeper.

Stitch Fix 3This is a striped buttonless cardigan with an interesting design detail; the lapel folds down all the way down the front and has piping on it. That sounds weird, but it was cute. The only problem is that I would wear it in the same situations as I would wear another gray sweater I have, and so I don’t really need another one. Like it, but sending it back.

Stitch Fix 4Skinny jeans. These are great and they fit well, but for fuck’s sake, they’re $150, and I already have good skinny jeans. Sending back.

There was a fifth item that I didn’t even take out of the box. It was a really cute knotted gold rope necklace. I’m just not that into jewelry these days, and I can’t bring myself to spend $40 on a necklace right now. Sending back.

So whatever you decide you want, you pay for according to the price tag, and whatever you decide you don’t want, you send back in the prepaid package included in the box. You just give some feedback on your account and toss the package in the mail and you’re done. If you want a monthly fix, your account will already be set for that, but if you don’t (I sure don’t need new clothes that often) you can manage your account to send fixes only when you want it to.

All in all, I’m really happy with the experience. In any normal shopping experience, I’m likely to try on far more clothes, end up with fewer keepers, and feel less satisfied with the whole experience. This was quick, painless, and actually quite delightful. I got two really cute tops that I wouldn’t have picked out for myself, and for a brief moment, I felt like someone who uses a personal shopper to try on $150 jeans. Now that’s luxury.

I won’t get these every month. We just can’t afford for me to get expensive new clothes that often. But for an occasional treat, I’ll absolutely do this again.

If you want to try this out, here’s the link.

Leave a Reply

