The Dead of Fucking Winter

Since I’m between freelance jobs, I’ve been periodically applying for publishing jobs in the city. I’m fairly certain that as of this morning I’ve applied to every single job at Random House related to my experience. If you know how many imprints and subsidiaries that company has, you realize that’s quite a few applications. I’d REALLY like to be able to take advantage of my time living in the publishing capital of the country.

But here’s the real reason. While I like being able to stay home and take care of Tommy, if I’m honest, I’m not sure how well suited I am to staying at home with an infant. I might get murdered by the mommy-blogs of the world, but here’s the truth: INFANTS ARE BORING *duck and cover*. Seriously.

Okay, maybe I’m getting cabin fever. Let’s just say winter in this part of the country is incredibly boring when you’re staying at home with an infant. Especially if you’re an introvert who is fairly new to the area.

A lot of days look like this.

IMG_2526

And I end up staying in my house all day. ALL DAY.

Blanket in the morning

Not my best look, but whatever.

 

I have nowhere to go, really. My child isn’t old enough to hang out with other kids, so no play dates. The only social group I belong to is a book club that meets once a month (and that I’ve only really been able to go to once. . . .). I’ve considered joining a church group just to hang out with other ladies, but I figure they might frown on my atheism. I try to be flexible, but there are some limits. And I’m just not the type to call someone for a cup of coffee unless I’m already pretty good friends with them.

I go to the grocery store, but how many times do I really need to do that? And I will admit it, I’ve driven twenty minutes over the mountain to go to Wendy’s. Or to aimlessly wander around stores without buying anything or even intending to (oddly enough, I’ve done this the most at Home Depot), but I’m not really much of a shopper to begin with. So most days I stay home.

Baby Books

The proximity of a Home Goods and a succession of boring snowy days is responsible for the presence of several new baskets in my house. Whatchagonnado?

 

I insist on getting dressed every day so that I feel like a human being. But my definition of “dressed” may differ from others’. I feel like I’m ready for the day when I’ve completed minimal hygiene tasks and changed out of the clothes I slept in to other clothes (even if that means going from pajama pants and a t-shirt to sweat pants and a different t-shirt). But most importantly, I can only considered myself to be dressed if I’m wearing a bra. Establishing limits, y’all. (Slippers may be worn all day.)

At times when I have nothing better to do (a lot of the time), I hang out with Tommy while he eats and plays. This requires minimal participation: bottle holding and occasional toy waving in addition to the necessary supervision required to keep him from rolling somewhere dangerous. I will admit, we watch quite a bit of TV while he eats (I’ve gotta say it, Curious George is a menace, and everyone just enables him!), and I tend to cruise the web when he’s preoccupied with his play mat, which is far more entertaining than I am.

Some days the most productive thing I do is bundle us up and shovel snow. I feel like there must be some technique to shoveling that I don’t know. I’ve never had to do it before. I tend to just fling it around and try to avoid having it fly back in the kiddo’s face. Have you ever shoveled snow while wearing a Baby Bjorn? It’s just about as difficult as you’d imagine.

Snowy Day

Those trashcans to the left of the garage needed a path to the street. Mission for the day!

 

I recently wrote about sleep training Tommy without his pacifier. That was a hellish ordeal! But we’ve survived and are better for it. It took longer than I expected for Tommy to get the hang of things, unfortunately, because he ended up with the stomach bug that Robin picked up from his office. Let’s just say babies with poop-splosions are grumpier than healthy babies. In any case, he can sleep now, but he’s never been a champion napper by any means.

All of this led me to the great furniture-painting project that I wrote about previously. Hurray! A project! It required actual planning, had a tangible result, improved our home in some small way, and cost less than other boredom-induced activities. And it helped take my mind off of the small crying creature that had taken over my home. I only upended the paint can all over the floor twice. Winning all around. I’m temporarily stopping for now because (A) I’ve run out of clear wax and the nearest retailer of Annie Sloan Chalk Paint products I can find is in Brooklyn, and (B) it’s actually fairly physically taxing, using repetitive motion to rub all that wax with muscles in my hands and arms that I clearly haven’t ever used before. I’ll probably resume the project soon-ish. Maybe.

I long for the days when it will be nice enough for me to go for long, rambling walks with the stroller. The days when I can show up at a park and just sort of wander into groups of other moms. The days when I can lurk at the pool. These activities will be even less awkward once my kid gets old enough to play with other kids. But for now, I just hang out at home. And I read blogs to pretend I hang out with other people. Because I’m not creepy enough already.

2 thoughts on “The Dead of Fucking Winter

  1. Your post had me giggling. Trust me when I tell you I understand! I had two kids and I homeschooled them. There was a time I’d not leave the house in weeks! Though I must say I was never bored. Looking forward to reading more of your posts. I like your dresser! Very nice. And yes a bra makes you all dressed up! 😉 Enjoy your day and hope the sun shines soon for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

