It’s been a rough week, y’all.

Tommy is apparently going through whatever growth spurt happens at six weeks. I say this because he’s been terrible lately. It’s a good thing he’s so cute, otherwise I might have sold him on the black market by now. And things were going really well last week! So well that I decided to make a couple of big changes.

I started using cloth diapers now that Tommy pretty much fits in them. This is actually going really well. The diapers are easy to use, and they’re so much cheaper than buying disposables every few days. I’ve got him in prefold diapers with covers rather than the all-in-ones. I don’t know why I decided to go for prefolds, but that’s what I’ve got. The prefold part can fit any size baby, but the diaper cover has to be snapped down to its smallest size, and the leg holes are still a little big for Tommy’s tiny little thighs. There’s only been one leakage incident so far, and that was an overnight wetting situation, which probably would have happened in any kind of diaper. I’m sure everyone out there is super interested in Tommy’s diaper progress. . . . Moving on.

The other change I instituted last week was moving Tommy into his crib at night. He was only getting up twice at night, and I thought moving him to his crib would help both Robin and I get better rest. This is less of a success, but I think the problem has more to do with Tommy going through a terrible phase rather than with the crib.

The kid has just been so fussy. Breastfeeding simply hasn’t worked, so I’m transitioning to using formula to fill Tommy up, and afterwards giving him whatever breastmilk I can while I still have it. This has changed his feeding schedule—or rather caused him to have a feeding schedule whereas he was just eating all day long before. He’s also become resistant to naps now that he can’t just fall asleep while I’m trying to nurse him. And for whatever reason, when a baby has trouble sleeping during the day, he has trouble sleeping at night. So we’ve spent several nights trying to convince a very angry baby to sleep. I AM SO TIRED.

In an effort to alleviate the problem—and reclaim my life from this little sleep-terrorist—I’ve just decided to put Tommy on a schedule. I spent much of the last two days reading all about infant schedules, and the basic format I’m using is a cycle in which the baby eats, has a little activity, and then sleeps every three hours. I just started trying this out yesterday, and it’s been a little rocky starting out, but I’m hopeful. I’m especially anxious to get this schedule working because I’ve got a little freelance work coming my way pretty soon, and I’ve got to be able to work for a couple hours at a time. (Hooray! I get to use my brain!)

Getting Tommy on a schedule will, I think, help me feel like a human being again. As it is, I may as well be an extra on The Walking Dead. The most challenging part is getting Tommy to nap without putting him in the stroller or the car to induce sleep. I went to the store today and loaded up on baby-sleep-gear: blackout curtains, a white-noise machine, and a special swaddle blanket. This afternoon has been much better, and I’m really hoping he sleeps tonight. Otherwise, I’m likely to try and trade this kid in for a different model. It’s been a good run, Tommy, but you’re about to get fired.

One thought on “It’s been a rough week, y’all.

  1. Pingback: Life Update: Tommy is Six Months Old | What Do I Do with My Hands?

Leave a Reply

