Life Update: Tommy is 1 Month Old

I hate to be one of those people whose entire life is about their child, but with an infant, it is hard to be any other way. I promise, I will be interesting at some point in the future. But for now, I’ll just have to talk about my kid.

Things have gone very well this month. It may have something to do with the fact that Robin was on leave the first two weeks and his mom has been around a TON. She is welcome to come hang out with the kid any time, and she seems to like doing it, so we’re all happy.

Adventures

This weekend Robin’s mom (bless her) came to hang out with the kid while Robin, his dad, and I went to New Haven for the Yale-Army football game.

The cadets marched onto the field and skydivers landed on the field before the game. Army has a bit of a theatrical streak.

The cadets marched onto the field and skydivers landed on the field before the game. Army has a bit of a theatrical streak.

I’m not a big sports fan, but I can enjoy a game every once in a while, and it was good to get out of West Point for a day. Listening to Robin (an Army man) and his dad (a Yale grad) good-naturedly insult each other’s team, school, and basic worldview was an added bonus. This was essentially the only interesting thing I’ve done in the past week or so.

Now for updates about the kid:

Growth

I haven’t actually weighed Tommy, but he’s definitely growing. He’s plumping up nicely, but he’s still wearing newborn sizes, and that includes diapers. We’ll start using the cloth diapers as soon as he fits into them, but he’s not quite big enough for the regular-sized ones, and I didn’t buy any of the newborn ones.

His eyes are still blue. We’re not sure if they’ll stay that way, but the genes are there in both families and weirder things have happened. His hair started out sort of reddish-gold, but it’s started falling out, and it could grow back any color. The hair loss is sort of hilarious because he has a little baby receding hairline.

I love this photo because he is smirking at the camera and because of his old-man hair. Seriously, look at all that forehead!

I love this photo because he is smirking at the camera and because of his old-man hair. Seriously, look at all that forehead!

But he also looks a little pitiful, especially considering the fact that his skin has been peeling and recovering from baby acne. And I made everything worse when I scraped his head on his car seat today (sorry, kiddo).

Day to Day Mom Life

Some days he refuses to let me put him down, but I forgive him for it.

Some days he refuses to let me put him down, but I forgive him for it.

During the week I stay at home with Tommy while Robin is at work. He’s a cute kid, but he’s not terribly interesting yet. He eats, sleeps, poops, and cries. That’s it. I feed him, change him, and try to soothe him, and that makes up most of my day. I try to get out of the house every day to walk and maybe go loiter at Starbucks for a while, but I spend a lot of time with the baby in my arms. I generally don’t even have a free hand to mess around on my computer. While the baby naps, I get myself dressed enough to avoid offending the general public and I try to keep the house from being completely disgusting (I have some fairly relaxed standards when it comes to personal appearance and housekeeping, but there are some lines that shouldn’t be crossed). Needless to say, I’ve let the plants from earlier this summer die. When Robin comes home, I can relax a bit and cook dinner, and then we watch TV for a bit.

I don’t really have other mom friends yet, but I’m working on it. Very slowly. I’m absolutely the worst at making friends. I’m really introverted, I don’t reach out to other people, and I get really anxious about hanging out with new-ish people because I’m terrible at small talk.

Seriously. I ran into an acquaintance while I was out with Robin last week, and when we parted ways after some very stilted small talk, Robin tuned to me and asked how he and I ever got together. I have no idea. But making friends is a lot like dating, and it’s exhausting. I usually rely on co-workers to become friends, since forced interaction takes the place of having to actually be sociable, but I don’t have that crutch right now. I’ve looked for new-mom groups, but I can’t find information on any in the area. My greatest successes so far have been due to proximity (my next-door neighbor is pretty great) or someone else’s persistence (thank goodness for extroverts).

So all-in-all my life is fairly limited right now, but that is to be expected, and it’s not terrible.

Feeding

I addressed this last week. The pain has improved a bit, but not much else. Tommy’s not great at breastfeeding and that’s just the way it is. He latches on shallowly and I have to fix it every time. He falls asleep pretty much as soon as I start to breastfeed, whether he’s dressed or not, so I have to go constantly prod him and switch from side to side to keep him eating at all, and even then he’s a very slow eater. As soon as I think I’m finished feeding him, he wants to eat again. I either spend all of my time trying to get him to eat enough, or I give him an occasional bottle of formula. I choose to give him a bottle of formula every once in a while so that I don’t go insane, but I still try to breastfeed as much as I can. While I breastfeed I’ve been watching a lot of 30 Rock and The Good Wife on Netflix, and I’m keeping up with quite a few shows on Hulu. Thank the internet gods for TV shows.

Sleeping

I don’t want to jinx it, but Tommy’s been sleeping really well. He only wakes up to eat twice a night, and he goes back down easily. I usually feed him before I go to bed around 10:30 or so, and he’ll get up around 1:00 or 2:00, then again at 4:00 or 5:00, and we wake up for the day at 7:00 or 8:00 when he refuses to sleep any more. If I need to, I can usually catch about an hour-long nap during the day. So far, I’ve had him in a little rocking cradle thingy next to the bed so I can grab him for feedings really easily and rock his cradle with one hand while I’m half asleep. But now that he’s doing so well, I think I’m going to try putting him in his crib. Fingers crossed.

We got this awesome little bassinet thingy as a gift.

We got this awesome little bassinet thingy as a gift.

Development

No much so far. For the most part, Tommy is essentially a loaf of bread with arms and legs. He’ll hang out awake for longer stretches of time, but he just looks around or flails his arms a bit. He has absolutely no control over his limbs, which is pretty funny. His neck has always been pretty strong, but he can’t hold his head up consistently yet. He’ll follow your face with his eyes, but he doesn’t really mirror facial expressions. He loves his pacifier, but I’m constantly having to put it back in his mouth when he accidentally spits it out; I’d strap it to his face if I could get away with it.

So that’s about it. I have a little baby, and we’re doing well, but it takes up a lot of time.

Leave a Reply

