Life Update, Mid-August

I’ve decided to do this post as a two-parter. I’ll include pregnancy stuff and recent goings-on in this post, and then I’ll upload a what-I’ve-been-reading post in just a bit.

Robin and I got to spend a few days in New Hampshire this month. Robin played golf, I lounged in the sun on the dock, and Stella enjoyed doggie paradise.

Why, yes, that IS that one maternity bathing suit from Target. I think I’ve seen it in every photo of a pregnant woman this summer.

Obligatory sunset photo from Wolfeboro

This place is gorgeous despite possibly having the largest population of spiders in the world—seriously, you walk through one spider web in the morning, and two more have been constructed in the same place by afternoon. This trip was especially nice because quite a few family members congregated at the lake house, including the contingents from England and Oregon that I hadn’t had a chance to meet yet. We played several rounds of Cards Against Humanity, which the parents enjoyed with us, but everyone decided that Nanny had better skip that particular game. She would most decidedly NOT APPROVE.

I’m now officially 37 weeks pregnant, which means that I am three weeks away from my due date, but in reality the baby could come at any time over the next month. Pleeeeease come sooner rather than later!

I had my checkup on Tuesday, at which time I was told that I’ve reached and surpassed the recommended weight gain and that my abdomen is measuring big. Hurray, I feel like a delicate flower. Can we please just stop talking about my weight? Yeah, so I’ve gained 40 pounds, mention it again and I might punch you.

Yep. This is me being all overweight and stuff.

Yep. This is me being all overweight and stuff.

They sent me in for an ultrasound to check the baby’s growth. I’m sure anyone who has ever seen my family will be shocked to know that he is big: he’s approximately 7.8 pounds right now. And he is always moving, which now causes some really freaky waves across my belly. Oh, and according to the one picture the technician printed out, he’s got demon eyes.

I am torn between weeping at the first glimpse of his sweet face and fearing for the lives of all mortals.

I am torn between weeping at the first glimpse of his sweet face and fearing for the lives of all mortals.

I’m fairly sure I’ve finished the formal preparations for the baby. Everything (plus some) has been bought and assembled. I’ve gone through the debate over whether I should get a boppy pillow (can’t I just use a regular damn pillow?) and went ahead and got some other brand of what appears to be a giant airplane-style neck pillow. I’ve read all the books. My hospital bag is packed. So now I just loll about the house, wearing pants as infrequently as possible (seriously, just fuck pants at this point, waistbands suck), feeling huge and waddling anywhere I have to go because I have a giant baby head wedged in my pelvis. The real challenge is keeping myself from dressing the cat in the baby’s clothes. The trick is to stay occupied.

I’ve been spending a lot of time at the pond (the community swimming hole). I go by myself with a book and sit in the shallow end. This is my method of making friends: I lurk around in the general vicinity of other people and hope someone approaches me. Granted, it’s slow going, but I’ve managed to meet a couple of women this way. I’m hoping having an actual child will ease my way into some quality playground-lurking this fall.

One of the new mom-friends invited me to come watch the new cadets marching in from basic training with her family and several others. Every year the new cadets finish up their 6-week basic training (called BEAST) with some time in the field, and then they march back to post (quite a long march, from what I understand) accompanied by the band and a group of old grads. It’s a bit like a parade by the time they get to the main street on post.

The long gray line gets some very tired and smelly additions.

The long gray line gets some very tired and smelly additions.

They seem to use a lot of fife and drum here.

They seem to use a lot of fife and drum around here.

The old grads volunteer to make the entire march with the cadets.

The old grads volunteer to make the entire march with the cadets.

So that’s what I’ve been doing. Click here if you want to see what I’ve been reading lately.

One thought on “Life Update, Mid-August

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Reading, Mid-August | What Do I Do with My Hands?

Leave a Reply

