Grain-Free Apple Cinnamon Raisin Muffins

I love baking. And when you or your spouse is on a grain-free diet, it can become a challenge to bake yummy things. Granted, I still make treats that I keep around to cheat with—you don’t actually expect me to live without cookies, do you? But I wanted to make something Robin could enjoy without feeling guilty about eating.

I searched out recipes that I could use almond flour in, and muffins seemed to have the best texture for someone getting used to almond-flour treats. I’ve since found other things that are also excellent, but this muffin recipe was my first big success. I found a basic recipe online, and have since adapted it to the kind of muffin I like best. I now make these all the time, and they make a decent breakfast when paired with a boiled egg or two.

Here’s the basic recipe, but I’ll go through it step by step below.

Ingredients
2 ½ cups almond flour
¾ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
3 eggs
1/3-cup apple sauce
2 tbsp honey
1 ½ tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ cup raisins

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Line a 12-cup, metal muffin pan with paper liners.
3. In a medium/large bowl, whisk the almond flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.
4. In a small bowl, whisk eggs, apple sauce, honey, oil, and vanilla.
5. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry until all are moistened. Fold in raisins.
6. Scoop batter into baking cups, filling about 2/3 full.
7. Bake 18 to 20 minutes until the center seems set and the tops begin to brown just a bit. Remove pan and set on cooling rack for at least 30 minutes.

 

Here’s the breakdown:

Preheat your oven to 350 and gather your items, or, if you’re like me, feel free to run about your kitchen trying to find ingredients as you go. Find a 12-cup muffin pan and toss some liners in it. Don’t waste really pretty ones on this recipe, as the muffins will likely obscure the color/pattern during baking.

 

 Find your almond flour. As in all of my almond-flour recipes, I find that more finely ground, blanched almond flour such as Honeyville works better than the more easily obtained Bob’s Red Mill, but use whatever you can. Notice the chunky bits in the flour. We need to get rid of those by whisking the dry ingredients together and incorporating a bit of air into the mixture.

 

So, in a medium-large bowl, mix your flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon until it is fully incorporated and as lump-free as you can make it.

 

In a smaller bowl, using the same whisk, mix the eggs, apple sauce, honey, oil, and vanilla until smooth-ish.

 

I don’t tend to use apple sauce for anything other than this recipe, so I buy these little cups of no-sugar-added, natural apple sauce so that I don’t waste a whole big bottle. They have just a touch more than I need, so I get to eat the rest.

 

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and fold it together. At this point, abandon the whisk, as the dough will be a bit thick for it, and a rubber spatula will help you scrape the bowl.

Toss the raisins into the mix and fold them in gently.

 

Divide the mixture between the cups in the muffin pan, filling each about 2/3 full. I like this little scooper guy, but a spoon will work just fine. The batter will stretch to 12 cups if you’re bothered by empty cups going into the oven like I am. But if you want slightly larger muffins, you can fill 10 cups a bit more, and they won’t overflow. Shove the pan in the oven and cook for 18 to 20 minutes.

 

In the meantime, tackle the dishes you’ve left in the sink for the past two days. Or don’t. I won’t judge.

 

The muffins are ready to come out when the tops begin to brown a bit and the centers are set. Let them cool 30 minutes to an hour. Store in a cool, dry place.

Here’s the nutritional information that I’ve calculated (with the help of a handy online calculator) for 1 muffin in a batch of 12: Calories: 198, Fat: 14.1g, Sat. Fat: 2.1g, Cholesterol: 46.5mg, Carbs: 14.5g. Fiber: 2.8g, Sugars: 8.8g, Protein: 6.8g

2 thoughts on “Grain-Free Apple Cinnamon Raisin Muffins

Leave a Reply

