The New Hampshire Experience

I’ve done a terrible thing: I left my hard-working husband at home to go on a vacation to the lake with his mom. I feel terrible about it, but it’s done, and I’ll just have to deal with it. . . . aaaaaannnnddd I’m good.

This place is absolutely gorgeous!

The dock is a bit wonky from the harsh winter storms, but that won't stop me from lying on it.

The dock is a bit wonky from the harsh winter storms, but that won’t stop me from lying on it.

So Robin’s grandmother owns this fabulous house right on the water at Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire. The house is lovely; Robin’s dad is an architect and designed it years ago. The house has all the luxuries you could ask for, including a great big, wide-open kitchen. Outside, there’s a dock, a boathouse, a little beach, everything. I’ve obviously done something very good in a past life to get to come here. I could stay here all summer if Robin and the pets were with me.

His grandmother does stay here most of the summer. And she hangs out at her boyfriend’s place in Florida when the seasons change. She’s almost 90, but you wouldn’t imagine it if you saw how sharp and agile she is. I kind of want to be her when I’m 90, but I’ll probably never be as classy.

I wasn’t sure I’d be comfortable hanging out with Robin’s family without him around. I like to be eased into this sort of thing over the course of several years. I generally need a mediator, someone I really know and feel comfortable with, to usher me around with the people I don’t know quite as well. But his mom, Kelly, and I have always gotten along great, so I’m very at ease with her. And we both enjoy the same vacationing style: sitting in the sunshine and going out for ice cream.

We’ll be here for most of the week, but unfortunately it’s supposed to rain for the next few days. I managed to get myself into the lake before it got too gray and windy today. Believe it or not, I hadn’t gone swimming during my pregnancy until today. What the hell was I thinking? It feels so good to let the buoyancy thing do its magic and just feel weightless. No extra twenty-plus pounds weighing me down, no baby-cranium pressing against my pelvis, just floating.

Well, now the weather is turning, and I suppose I’ll have to lie around on this beautiful porch reading for a while. Darn.

This is the secondary lying around location. I do a lot of lying around here.

This is the secondary lying around location. I do a lot of lying around here.

Leave a Reply

